Important:

We’re upgrading our calendar experience with a new tool for linking your external calendars to Upwork. If you link a Microsoft or Google calendar to Upwork for meetings or consultations, you will need to relink your calendar between March 25 and March 31 to prevent any disruption in syncing.

  • You can still relink after the transition period, but after March 31 new meetings or consultations will not sync to your external calendar until you do
    • Missed some meetings? Don’t worry. You can add meetings that didn’t sync to your external calendar manually by choosing the Add to calendar link in the meeting message
  • If you are a freelancer, your external calendar will not sync with your Upwork availability until you relink, and you will need to update your availability manually until you do

Effective communication is important for building relationships and completing projects, and sometimes the best form of communication is a face-to-face meeting. That’s why we’ve included a meeting scheduling tool right in Upwork Messages for your convenience.

Link a calendar


Linking a calendar helps you stay on top of your busy schedule. It sends meetings and consultations scheduled on Upwork to your external calendar and automatically syncs your availability.

Supported calendars are:

  • Google Calendar — This includes calendars with custom domain emails that are hosted by Google Workspace
  • Microsoft Calendars — Cloud-based Microsoft accounts are supported, but on-premises accounts are not.

    Apple iCal is not currently supported.

To link a calendar, navigate to a message room and select the calendar icon at the top of the room. This will open the “Connect your calendar” window. You can perform this step in any message room, even if you do not intend to schedule a meeting in it right away.

You will be prompted to sign into your Microsoft or Google account so that we can access your calendar.

Note:

Once you’ve integrated your calendar, it is applied to all of your active message rooms. You do not need to re-sync to schedule meetings and show your availability in different rooms.

Send a meeting invitation


To schedule a meeting, navigate to the specific message room and select the calendar icon at the top of the page. If you have not linked a calendar, the “Connect your calendar” window will open. You can connect a calendar or choose the Skip button.

When you have added a calendar or skipped doing so, the “Share your availability” window will open. Select the time zone for the meeting, as well as the days and times you are available. You can copy available times from one day to another using the copy icon.

Note that if a time is booked on your external calendar, even if you marked it as available while creating the meeting invitation, it will show as unavailable to other users.

To continue, choose Next, and the “Choose meeting duration” window will open. You can select 15, 30, 45, or 60 minutes.

Then, select the Send button, which will send a meeting invite link to the message room. Everyone in the room will be able to access it.

Schedule a meeting


After you send a meeting invite, other participants in the room can select the automatically generated “Schedule a meeting” link, which opens the “Schedule a meeting” window.

This window is split into two sections. The left-hand section includes a calendar with the invite sender’s available dates highlighted. Once the recipient chooses a date, the sender’s available times for that date appear.

If the sender has an external calendar linked, their available times will reflect that. For example, if you are available on Upwork from 9 am to 5 pm, but your linked external calendar has activities scheduled from 3 pm to 5 pm, your availability on Upwork will display as 9 am to 3 pm.

Linking a calendar is optional for meeting invitation respondents. They can simply select a day from the calendar to gain access to available time slots.

When the respondent has chosen a day and time, and selected the Confirm button, the meeting is automatically scheduled. The meeting sender will have the event automatically added to their calendar, if they have one synced. All other participants will receive a system message with an Add to calendar link that they can use to manually add the meeting to their own calendars.

Reschedule or cancel a meeting


Sometimes things come up and you can’t make a meeting. You can cancel or reschedule if necessary.

After a meeting is scheduled, the message remains in the room and includes Cancel and Reschedule links. To do either, simply select the link and follow the steps.

You’ll have the option to enter a reason for rescheduling or canceling. You may consider following up with a message too as appropriate.

Join a meeting


Those with synced calendars or who manually added an event to their calendars will be able to join the meeting via the link in the calendar event. You can also join via the Join the meeting link in your conversation in the message room.

Pro tip:

To get message and email alerts about new meetings and consultations, go to Settings > Notifications to make sure your notifications are turned on. You can also manage your message notifications in Upwork Messages by selecting Message settings in the options (...) menu.

Frequently Asked questions

If I disconnect my calendar after accepting meeting invitations, will they disappear from my calendar?

No, they will still appear in your calendar. You cannot remove or edit them on the Upwork platform, but you will be able to from your calendar.

Can I add people who are not in the message room?

No, only people in a message room can be invited to a meeting created for that room.

Do I have to link my calendar?

You are not required to link your calendar but certain functionality, such as calendar alerts, will be unavailable to you if you do not.

Do you support Apple iCal?

Not currently, though we are working on it and will support it soon. In the meantime, you can use Google or Microsoft calendars.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"We are aware of reports of inaccurate withdrawal schedule notification emails, and have taken steps to rectify the issue. Your withdrawal schedule has not changed. You can confirm your withdrawal schedule by visiting the Get Paid section in your account settings.","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}