Get an escrow refund on a fixed-price contract

Fixed-price contracts require clients to put funds into escrow in advance so that once a freelancer successfully completes the project or a portion of it (we call these milestones), the money will be available to be paid to the freelancer.

At times, the scope of a project may change and you, as a client, might have put more money into the escrow account than needed. For example, say you paid $500 into escrow to cover the cost of a freelancer writing five articles ($100 each) but you and the freelancer agree to change the contract terms to complete only four articles. In this case, you end the contract once the agreed articles are delivered and ask the freelancer to refund the $100 that is in escrow for the unneeded fifth article.


To request an escrow refund

  1. Go to My Jobs and select the contract name in the list.
  2. Select the "Cancel Contract" button at the top right.
  3. End the contract. If your final payment is less than your escrow balance, an escrow refund request will be sent to your freelancer

Your freelancer will then have seven days to respond to the request. If they approve the refund or fail to respond within the seven days, the money in escrow will be returned to you.

If your freelancer disputes the escrow refund

Your freelancer can also dispute the refund if they feel a refund is not warranted. If this happens, you will be notified by email and given the chance to do one of two things:

  • Accept the dispute and release the funds to the freelancer
  • Reject the dispute and work with an Upwork dispute specialist to resolve the matter, per Upwork Fixed-Price Protection

Typically, we see clients and freelancers come to an agreement. But if necessary, the dispute specialist will make a final recommendation concerning the funds.  Please see the Fixed Price Escrow Instructions for more details and next steps if the parties cannot come to a resolution.

Important facts about escrow refunds

  • You will receive a refund of any payment processing fee as long as the money stayed in escrow and was never released to the freelancer.
  • Escrow refunds will be returned to the billing method you used for the deposit. The credit can take up to five business days to appear. Funds held more than 60 days may instead be returned to your balance for reuse if we cannot credit your billing method (some billing method vendors don’t allow credits to be applied after a certain number of days).

Have more questions? Submit a request


Upwork Status

Incident Status

Our records show your Upwork account is not active.

This might be due to no account activity (earnings, payments, contracts, etc.) or because we had to suspend it. When we suspend an account we send an email explaining the reason and whether or not you can take steps to reverse the suspension. Please review that email for more details.

For general questions, you can visit our Community or review our Terms of Service.

We’ll start a video chat with you. Please make sure you use a desktop device with a camera to continue the process. Also, allow Upwork temporary use of your camera and microphone. You may disable this access after the chat session.

If all of our agents are busy when you attempt to chat, please hold, and one of our agents will be with you shortly.

We noticed that you're currently using a browser that is not supported by our video verify process.

We recommend that you switch to Google Chrome or Firefox in order to successfully complete verification. Thank you

Upwork’s Category Specialists are standing by to help you discover and plan new projects.

Ask them about roles or projects that you want to learn more about. They can also draft job posts for you.

Your chat will begin in the bottom right corner of this page.

Upwork’s Category Specialists are currently offline.

Send us a message below and we’ll respond via email as soon as we can. You can also come back here during business hours (Mon-Fri, 6am-5pm PT) to chat with us.

How can we help?
Thanks for your message! A Category Specialist will respond to your message via email as soon as they can.
Thanks for your message! Your request to change your profile back to "public" has been successfully submitted.