You can temporarily and immediately pause a contract to stop a freelancer from logging more hours or wait until you are ready to proceed with the next part of your project.

To pause the contract

  1. Go to Jobs > My Jobs and find the contract.
  2. Click the (...) options menu choose Pause contract.

To restart the contract

  1. Go to Jobs > My Jobs and find the contract.
  2. Click the (...) options menu choose Restart.

Important: Upwork Payroll contracts will always show as paused because they use a separate billing system.

Log in to get personalized help.