Connects are used to submit proposals for jobs. Submitting a proposal to a job requires up to 6 Connects, depending on factors such as the size and type of project.
You do not need to use Connects when a client initiates contact by inviting you to bid, when a client initiates contact by sending you an offer, or when you send a proposal within an Enterprise Talent Cloud. Connects may also be returned under the following circumstances:
- If a project is canceled by the client without making a hire, the Connects used on that proposal will be returned to you for reuse. This does not apply to expired job posts.
- If a job post has been removed by Upwork for a Terms of Service violation, the Connects used on that proposal will be returned for you to reuse.
Note: Withdrawing your proposal will not return your Connects.
Connects cost $0.15 (USD) each and are sold in bundles of 10, 20, 40, 60, and 80. To purchase additional Connects:
Once you’ve selected the bundle you wish to purchase, click Add Connects and your account will be automatically charged.
To check your balance of available Connects:
- Go to Find Work
- Your available Connects balance is shown on the right
The Connects required to submit a proposal can be seen on the project details page. Required Connects is shown at the top-right under the Submit Proposal and Save buttons.
As a freelancer, the maximum balance of Connects you can have at any time is 350. For agencies, that maximum is 400. You can only rollover 140 Connects per billing cycle (agencies can rollover as many as 160). We will notify you before your Connects are due to expire.
You can only rollover 140 Connects per billing cycle (agencies can rollover as many as 160).
Connects expire one year from date of issue. However, you can only rollover 140 Connects per billing cycle (agencies can rollover as many as 160).