Your portfolio is where you have the opportunity to impress potential clients with real-life examples of your skills and expertise. Use it to show off projects related to any or all of your skills, so long as you personally have worked on every item you add and adhere to all of Upwork’s Terms of Service.

Portfolios aren’t just for writing and artwork samples. You can describe and skill-tag projects you’ve done in any category Upwork offers, from Admin Support to Web Development and everything in between.

To add a project to your portfolio:

  1. Go to the Find Work tab, and click the Edit Your Profile link.
  2. Scroll down to the Portfolio section and click the Add button.
  3. Enter a Title, Description, Category, and optional Completion Date.
  4. Enter a thumbnail image, URL, and/or attach project files so the client has something to see. Images can be in .jpg, .jpeg, .gif, or .png format. Attachments can be in .doc, .swf, or .pdf format. The maximum size is 5 mb for the thumbnail and 25 mb for attachments.
  5. Tag the project with relevant skills to help clients find your work more easily. When possible, link it to an Upwork contract, too.
  6. Click the Publish Project button.

Like the rest of your profile, posting contact info isn’t allowed in your portfolio. That means these files (and linked sites) can’t include your email address, phone number, or chat ID.

Freelancers with effective portfolios tend to follow these best practices:

  • Be selective. Show your best work rather than everything you have ever created.
  • Highlight skills & technologies. This is particularly important for software/technical projects.
  • Describe your role in the project. Which parts of the project were you responsible for? How long did it take to complete the project?
  • Keep your portfolio updated. As you complete new projects, remove examples that are outdated or irrelevant.
  • Link items to past contracts whenever possible. These items will be displayed more prominently and help build your credibility in the marketplace. We’ll automatically email the client when a portfolio item has been linked, giving them three days to reject it before the item will be publicly linked to their history.

Log in to get personalized help.