Add or Remove Team Members

You must be an account owner or team admin to add or remove team members. If you need to have additional admins on your account, consider upgrading to an Upwork Plus account.

To invite a new team member

  1. Go to Settings > Members & Permissions
  2. Click Invite New User
  3. Fill out the form to assign the appropriate permissions
  4. Click Invite

To adjust team permissions

  1. Go to Settings > Members & Permissions
  2. Click the team member’s name you wish to update
  3. Adjust any permissions you need to change
  4. Click Save

To remove a team member

    1. Go to Settings > Members & Permissions
    2. Click the team member’s name you wish to update
    3. Click Remove from Team

Team Permissions

Under Settings > Members & Permissions you can add team members and adjust permissions according to the following options:

Finance Only: Can manage payment methods, view financial reports, and make deposits and withdrawals. Finance privileges are company-wide, even when Teams are in use.

Full: In addition to finance privileges, can invite or remove team members, manage members permissions, and edit company details.
Source Talent Only: Can post jobs, invite freelancers to interview, and review proposals. Cannot hire, end contracts, give bonuses, or update contract terms.

Full: In addition to talent sourcing privileges, hiring managers can make contract offers, approve milestones, give bonuses, increase rates, end contracts, and submit freelancer feedback.
Self Only: Can log time and view their own Work Diary (only applicable to freelancers with active contracts).

All: Can log time (with an active contract) and view Work Diaries and hours-only reports for all team members.
No One: Can only see and respond to team members who initiate messaging.

Team Members: Can see and chat with everyone on the team.

Company Members: Can see and chat with everyone in the company, across all teams.
Main point of contact responsible for the freelancer's contract. By default, this is the person who hired the freelancer, but you can set it to be anyone on your team who has Hiring permission "Full".

Note: Admins and Hiring Managers on your team will receive a copy of the Weekly Billing Summary.

Log in to get personalized help.