Edit or Close a Posted Job

You can edit everything about your job except one thing—you can't change the terms from hourly to fixed-price or the other way around. To change this detail, you'll have to close your job and repost.

To edit your job:

  1. Click the Jobs tab.
  2. Locate the job you want in your Open Jobs and click Edit Posting in the Actions menu.

To cancel or close your job:

  1. Click the Jobs tab and locate the job you want to close in your Open Jobs.
  2. Click Remove Posting in the Actions menu and follow the instructions. You can always come back and repost the job or hire a freelancer who submitted a proposal.

To change a job's visibility:

  1. Click the Jobs tab.
  2. Locate the job you want in your Open Jobs and click Make Public or Make Private in the Actions menu.
    • Public jobs appear in freelancers' job searches. Choose this so that they can find your job on their own. You may also opt to allow your job to be visible on search engines.
    • Private, invitation-only jobs don't appear in searches, so you'll need to take the time to find and invite all the freelancers you need.

If you change visibility from Public to Private you may still get a few proposals. This is because a freelancer may have saved your job's URL, the URL may have already loaded in their RSS feed reader, or the job post is still appearing in search engines outside of Upwork (it usually takes about a day for them to remove your job after a visibility change).


Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Select your issue category and subcategory
Please share as much information as you can, including things like:
Attachment (for example, screenshots):
Add Files
    Popular Topics
    Provide more details:
    Attachment (for example, screenshots):
    Add Files
      • Discuss with Upwork Community

      Your request has been submitted

      Your ticket number is XXXXXXXXX
      We will email you as soon as we can.

      Our records show your Upwork account is not active.

      This might be due to no account activity (earnings, payments, contracts, etc.) or because we had to suspend it. When we suspend an account we send an email explaining the reason and whether or not you can take steps to reverse the suspension. Please review that email for more details.

      For general questions, you can visit our Community or review our Terms of Service.

      We’ll start a video chat with you. Please make sure you use a desktop device with a camera to continue the process. Also, allow Upwork temporary use of your camera and microphone. You may disable this access after the chat session.

      If all of our agents are busy when you attempt to chat, please hold, and one of our agents will be with you shortly.

      We noticed that you're currently using a browser that is not supported by our video verify process.

      We recommend that you switch to Google Chrome or Firefox in order to successfully complete verification. Thank you

      Upwork’s Category Specialists are standing by to help you discover and plan new projects.

      Ask them about roles or projects that you want to learn more about. They can also draft job posts for you.

      Your chat will begin in the bottom right corner of this page.

      Upwork’s Category Specialists are currently offline.

      Send us a message below and we’ll respond via email as soon as we can. You can also come back here during business hours (Mon-Fri, 6am-5pm PT) to chat with us.

      How can we help?
      Thanks for your message! A Category Specialist will respond to your message via email as soon as they can.
      Powered by Zendesk