What is the Upwork Team App?

The Upwork Team app is designed for collaboration and Payment Protection. Chat in real-time with your clients or freelancers on desktop, mobile, and the Messages tab on Upwork.com. Freelancers also use the app to log time on hourly contracts.

The app is available for most recent versions of Windows, Mac, and Linux. Please see the Downloads page for up-to-date OS and hardware requirements. To read the Team app software license, click here.

Having a problem with the app? Click here for troubleshooting tips.


What do we upload when you log time?

It’s easy to log time on your hourly contracts. Toggle the ON/OFF switch into the ON position when you begin work and click it back to OFF when you are finished or taking a break. Your activity automatically uploads to the Work Diary, enabling automated invoicing and Upwork Hourly Protection.

Screen Snapshots

When you have logging turned on, the app takes screen snapshots six times per hour—once per 10-minute billing segment. The snapshot could be at any time during the segment. Anything visible on your screen displays in your Work Diary, so you have the Preferences give you the option to capture the entire desktop or the active screen only.

You can also choose whether or not you want to be notified each time a snapshot is taken. By default, notifications are on and you’ll have the option to delete the snapshot before upload. Even with notifications off, you may delete the snapshots from your Work Diary until the end of the work week. You are in control. Just keep in mind that if you delete a screen snapshot, you also delete that time segment’s activity (meaning it won’t be included in your weekly invoice)


We ask you to enter regular memos to describe your work. Each time segment can have both a memo and an Activity label. Make sure that all your time is accurately described, because it’s an important part of how you qualify for the Upwork Hourly Protection. If your client files a dispute against the hours you log and you do not have adequite descriptive memos or Activity labels, the dispute manager will award the dispute in the client's favor.

If you’d like, you can set a reminder in the app to ask you for an update. If annotating your time as you work is inconvenient, don’t worry, those reminders are optional and you can update the memos and Activity labels in your Work Diary until it’s locked for invoiced.

Camera Snapshots

Adding camera snapshots can make your Work Diary feel more personal. This feature is optional and disabled by default. If you choose to enable the camera, snapshots (not video) will be uploaded 6 times an hour—taken at the same time as your screen snapshots. You can delete the camera snapshots from your Work Diary without changing the time segment’s activity.


The app logs your activity level by counting the number of mouse clicks, scroll actions, and keystrokes you make. It also records to your Work Diary the name of the application you’re using and its active window at the time of the snapshot.

The app does not record:

  • What you click
  • What you type
  • Non-visible information like ***ed-out passwords
  • Files you access
  • Lists of applications you use
  • Video footage through your webcam
  • Information about the inactive applications you may have open

Keep in mind that:

  • The app is not a surveillance system.
  • You have full control over what it records. You can turn it on and off at any point and you can choose whether to share snapshots and activity levels—delete anything you don’t want shared either before upload or from your Work Diary.
  • The main purpose of the application is to help you qualify for Upwork Hourly Protection. In case of dispute, we look to your Work Diary as proof of your work.

You can learn more about how we use the recorded and uploaded information in the privacy policy.


To log your time:

  1. Open the Upwork Team app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Select the correct contract
  4. Click the On/Off toggle switch to turn on logging
  5. Click the What are you working on? box to enter a memo and/or Activity label

To change your memo while you’re logging time:

  1. Switch back to the Team app window
  2. Click the What are you working on? box again to enter a new memo and/or Activity label

To change your memo after your time has been uploaded to the Work Diary:

  1. To to your contract’s Work Diary
  2. Click the memo bar above the segment you’re changing
  3. Edit your memo and assigned Activity as necessary

Having a problem with the app? Click here for troubleshooting tips.

Please contact Customer Support with any questions or concerns regarding logging your time with the Upwork Team app.


Have more questions? Submit a request



    Question category

    Log in via Upwork

    If you have an Upwork account, log in to live chat with our customer service agents to resolve your issues quickly.
    You also need to log in to check your existing requests.
    If you do not have an Upwork account, or are unable to login, please click here to submit a request
    Send your question or issue and we will get back to you.
    The most efficient way to get your questions answered.
    Need help now? Call us at:

    +1 (855) 676-3375
    Available from 6am to 6pm PST
    Monday to Friday.