What is Upwork’s Opt-Out Fee?

In some cases a client and/or freelancer may opt-out of Upwork service fees by paying an opt-out fee. This fee allows you to receive and make payments outside of Upwork without violating Upwork’s non-circumvention policy. Please review Section 7 of the Upwork Terms of Service for details about the opt-out fee and whether it might be a good fit for you.

Have more questions? Submit a request


Upwork Status

Incident Status

Our records show your Upwork account is not active.

This might be due to no account activity (earnings, payments, contracts, etc.) or because we had to suspend it. When we suspend an account we send an email explaining the reason and whether or not you can take steps to reverse the suspension. Please review that email for more details.

For general questions, you can visit our Community or review our Terms of Service.

We’ll start a video chat with you. Please make sure you use a desktop device with a camera to continue the process. Also, allow Upwork temporary use of your camera and microphone. You may disable this access after the chat session.

If all of our agents are busy when you attempt to chat, please hold, and one of our agents will be with you shortly.

We noticed that you're currently using a browser that is not supported by our video verify process.

We recommend that you switch to Google Chrome or Firefox in order to successfully complete verification. Thank you

Upwork’s Category Specialists are standing by to help you discover and plan new projects.

Ask them about roles or projects that you want to learn more about. They can also draft job posts for you.

Your chat will begin in the bottom right corner of this page.

Upwork’s Category Specialists are currently offline.

Send us a message below and we’ll respond via email as soon as we can. You can also come back here during business hours (Mon-Fri, 6am-5pm PT) to chat with us.

How can we help?
Thanks for your message! A Category Specialist will respond to your message via email as soon as they can.
Thanks for your message! Your request to change your profile back to "public" has been successfully submitted.