End your Contract with a Client 

Freelancers usually wait for the client to end the contract. This makes final payment on a fixed-price job easier and ensures that the client leaves feedback for you. However, you can end a contract if you wish to do so.

To end a contract:

  1. Click the My Jobs tab.
  2. Find the one you want to end and click the Job Details link.
  3. Click End contract.

Once you end a contract:

  • The system locks your Work Diary for that contract immediately and you cannot access it to log hours or make changes.
  • Your client will be billed for hours and may dispute them according to the usual weekly billing cycle.
  • Both you and your client can leave feedback. It is a double-blind system. The other user cannot see the feedback you left them until after they have left feedback for you.
  • Clients can make additional fixed-price or bonus payments on ended contracts.
  • Freelancers can still give a refund on the ended contract for payments made within the last 180 days.

Please speak with your client before you end a contract. All Upwork users have the freedom to end a contract any time, but please talk to your client first because it is always best if everyone is aware of what’s going on and in agreement about it.

Have more questions? Submit a request


Please briefly describe your question:

    Question category

    Log in via Upwork

    If you have an Upwork account, log in to live chat with our customer service agents to resolve your issues quickly.
    You also need to log in to check your existing requests.
    If you do not have an Upwork account, or are unable to login, please clickhere to submit a request
    Powered by Zendesk