An application is required to join Upwork. Once submitted, we typically take 24 hours to review your application and we will notify you via email if your application is approved or declined. If we find that our marketplace doesn't have opportunities for you based on your combination of skills and experience, your application to join Upwork won't be accepted. We invite you to update your profile and reapply if you feel that you have more relevant skills or experience to add that may have been left off your initial application.
Can my application to join be reconsidered?
You can update and resubmit your application to join as you gain more experience outside of Upwork or learn new skills. Doing so will help us identify whether there are new opportunities for you at that time. You can find more information on how to make a great profile here.
Once you've updated your experience and skills, you can resubmit your profile for a fresh review by going to Find Work > Profile.
I have a client already on the site who wants to hire me. What can I do?
Clients can directly hire freelancers not currently on Upwork through the "Bring Your Own Freelancer" feature. Your profile will be activated as soon as you accept the client's invitation, but restricted to work with that client only. Your client can find more information on how to work with you on Upwork here. Your profile will not be included in the marketplace unless you later re-submit your application and are then accepted.