Manage Your Coworker Settings 𝙳𝚛𝚊𝚏𝚝

The Coworker Settings menu allows account admins with a verified business domain to automatically grant access to new clients, with the same business email domain, to join an existing company account on Upwork.

You can access this feature under Settings > Members & Permissions > Coworker Settings

coworker-settings.png

When toggled on, new clients with a business domain matching your own will be encouraged to join your existing company account with their coworkers or create their own account during registration.

By default, these users will have the ability to post jobs and interview freelancers. If you'd like them to be able to hire and pay with your account, you'll need to select this option.

This feature is not currently available to clients with non-business emails (i.e. @gmail.com) or those who have not yet verified their email.


Frequently Asked Questions

How do I join the Upwork account our company uses?

If you’re new to Upwork and using an email address from your company, we’ll automatically search our system to see if others from your company have already created an Upwork account. If we locate one and they have set it up that coworkers can automatically join, you will be prompted to join the account.

If a company account doesn’t exist, you can create a new account. Be sure to enable the auto-join function under “Coworker Settings,” if you want to allow coworkers to automatically join your account.

If you already have an account on Upwork, you will not be able to merge your account with your company’s account. We hope to add this option in the future.

I don’t want Upwork to recognize my company. What should I do?

Upwork will automatically recognize your business name based on your email address if you use your company email address. However, you will have the option to not allow auto-join functionality.

Can I create a separate account that is not associated with my business?

You can create your own separate account by choosing not to join a company account at signup. If you’re using your business email address but don’t want other coworkers to be able to join your account, you can disable auto-join in “Coworker Settings.”

How do I know if my company has an account already?

New customers will see a list of existing company accounts (if the accounts have auto-join turned on) when they register using their business email address.

If you already have an account on Upwork, you will not be able to merge your account with your company’s account. We hope to add this option in the future.

I have a business email domain, why can’t I see the auto-join button?

It’s possible that your email address is unverified. Check your email inbox (and spam folder) and look for a verification email from Upwork. Once you verify your email address, you’ll be able to see the auto-join button under Settings > Members & Permissions > Coworker Settings.

Can a coworker request to join my account?

At this time, the ability to request to join an account doesn’t exist. We hope to add this in the future.

Log in to get personalized help.