During the months of June and July, Upwork will be retiring the “legacy” client account type. Client accounts affected by this change will have the option to choose a membership plan that best fits their hiring needs. You can learn more about client membership plans below.
As part of the new membership plan rollout, the payment processing and administration fee (PPF) will be increasing from 2.75% to 3% for anyone on Upwork Basic or Upwork Plus.
We will be rolling out these changes over several weeks and there will be no changes to your account until you receive a notification email and start seeing the notification when you log onto your Upwork account.
If you already have an Upwork Basic, Upwork Plus, Upwork Business or Upwork Enterprise account, you will not be affected by these changes.
Our goal is to help businesses attract and hire top-quality talent so that you can get your projects done successfully. In the past, we offered a one-size-fits-all model which didn’t cater well to businesses of different sizes using Upwork. With this change, clients now have the option to choose the best membership plan for their business needs whether that is for individual use or with teams of coworkers. The new memberships plans also give professional freelancers and agencies a new way to identify high-potential clients.
We are asking all clients who are on our grandfathered account type to move to one of our new plans, and will be rolling this out over the course of several weeks. If your account is one of the accounts affected by this change, you will receive notice via email and when you log onto the website starting in June.
We always welcome your feedback. Please feel free to leave your feedback and/or suggestions via the “Feedback” link, which is located at the bottom of nearly every Upwork page. Simply log into your account, scroll to the bottom and click "Feedback.” Once you type in your feedback, suggestions or ideas, make sure to click the “Send Us Feedback” button so that we receive them.
Yes, our Terms of Service was updated in relation to this change.
We are rolling this out to clients over several weeks and not everyone will see changes to their account at the same time. Don’t worry - we will be sure to send you an email when the changes apply to your Upwork account. You will also see a notice about the change when you log into the website. Thanks for your patience!
If you move to Upwork Basic or Upwork Plus the payment processing fee will increase from 2.75% to 3% on any existing contracts going forward. Note: Upwork Plus members who pay with a bank account will not have to pay the 3% fee.
If you choose to upgrade to Upwork Plus for clients, you will receive a free trial. To see the duration of your free trial and to start your free trial, go to Settings > Membership > Change Plan.
If you choose to move from the discontinued plan to the new Upwork Basic, all your work will be saved, however you will no longer have access to the following features: teams, activity codes, multiple billing methods, company reports, multiple admins and unlimited freelancer invites. Additionally, anything you’ve created in the past will remain unchanged. For example, if you have Teams set up already, you will still have access to your team, but you won’t be able to create any new ones going forward. You will also pay a 3% payment processing and administration fee on all your transactions.