Account Management 101

In this guide, you’ll find step-by-step information to help create a complete, professional client account in our marketplace.

Create Your Login

Use your company email to create an account on Upwork. If your company already has an account, Upwork should automatically recognize your business name and add you as part of the team. If you are already an account owner or admin, be sure to update your Coworker Settings to enable the auto-join feature.

If your company has an account and you don’t get matched automatically, select “I don’t see my team” when given the option, and one of our specialists will help you.

We strongly encourage every team member to create their own login in order to take advantage of the account’s full functionality. Shared logins can cause confusion. Plus, dedicated logins for every member of a team are free of charge.

Set Up Your Account

As part of our work to help businesses grow on Upwork, we make team collaboration simple and easy. 

Basic memberships start with one team per company account. Upwork Plus, Business and Enterprise members can create multiple teams if they choose. 

Teams help to optimize user collaboration, organization, and functionality. The perks include: 

  • Enhanced visibility into Activity and Talent
  • Consolidated payment method management
  • Personal notifications 
  • Shared access to files, reports and project progress
  • The ability to delegate freelancer communication and hiring
  • Customized permissions and controls for the different team members

If you are an account owner or administrator, enable teams here or manage unique team member permissions here.

If you are joining an existing team, be sure your administrator has activated the auto-join function in Coworker Settings.

Manage Your Passwords 

Be sure to create a unique Upwork login to manage your password. If you’ve forgotten your password or security question, find help to reset it here

Update Your Company Information

You must be the company account owner or have full admin permissions to update your company information. Find the tools you need under SettingsMy Info, or take a look at this guide

Account Owner Changes

If the account owner or administrator leaves your company, we can help you to transfer responsibilities.

  • Ensure the new owner is a registered user on the account. If you need help with registration, reach out to an Upwork specialist.

  • Send written permission to support@upwork.com to transfer administrator responsibilities to a new owner.

Tips and Tricks

To get the most out of your account, take a look at these tips.

  • Be sure to create your own unique login to receive notifications and keep things organized. 
  • There is no user limit for your Upwork client account. Add as many logins as you like, free of charge. 
  • Individual logins allow all users to take full advantage of notifications, project management, and more. 
  • Use your company email to sign up for an Upwork account. Upwork can help connect you to your team with an official business name, but will not be able to help you with a non-business email account (@gmail, @yahoo, or similar).
  • To keep new users from joining your teams, disable the auto-join feature under Coworker Settings.

If you are an account owner or administrator, enable teams for optimized notifications, consolidated payment, and enhanced organization.

How do I join the Upwork account our company uses?

If you’re new to Upwork and using an email address from your company, we’ll automatically search our system to see if others from your company have already created an Upwork account. If we locate one and they have set it up that coworkers can automatically join, you will be prompted to join the account. If a company account doesn’t exist, you can create a new account. Be sure to enable the auto-join function under Coworker Settings, if you want to allow coworkers to automatically join your account. If you already have an account on Upwork, you will not be able to merge your account with your company’s account. We hope to add this option in the future.

I don’t want Upwork to recognize my company. What should I do?

Upwork will automatically recognize your business name based on your email address if you use your company email address. However, you will have the option to disable auto-join functionality.

Can I create a separate account that is not associated with my business?
You can create your own separate account by choosing not to join a company account at signup. If you’re using your business email address but don’t want other coworkers to be able to join your account, you can disable auto-join in Coworker Settings.
How do I know if my company has an account already?
New customers will see a list of existing company accounts (if the accounts have auto-join turned on) when they register using their business email address. If you already have an account on Upwork, you will not be able to merge your account with your company’s account. We hope to add this option in the future.
Can I create a separate account that is not associated with my business?
You can create your own separate account by choosing not to join a company account at signup. If you’re using your business email address but don’t want other coworkers to be able to join your account, you can disable auto-join in Coworker Settings.
How do I know if my company has an account already?
New customers will see a list of existing company accounts (if the accounts have auto-join turned on) when they register using their business email address. If you already have an account on Upwork, you will not be able to merge your account with your company’s account. We hope to add this option in the future.
I have a business email domain, why can’t I see the auto-join button?
It’s possible that your email address is unverified. Check your email inbox (and spam folder) and look for a verification email from Upwork. Once you verify your email address, you’ll be able to see the auto-join button under Settings › Members & Permissions › Coworker Settings.
Can a coworker request to join my account?

At this time, the ability to request to join an account doesn’t exist. We hope to add this in the future.

How can I add additional teams?

Users on an Upwork Basic account can upgrade to Upwork Plus, Business, or Enterprise to add additional teams to their account.

Will I lose access to my teams if I change plans?

If you change from Upwork Plus, Business, or Enterprise to an Upwork Basic account, you will continue to have access to all the teams you created while on your premium membership, but will no longer be able to create new teams.

I’m getting too many notifications!

By default, we automatically send you notifications about your activity on Upwork. You can choose to not receive desktop, mobile and email notifications at any time. If you’re having issues receiving notifications, please check the troubleshooting tips here.

How can I move a contract from one hiring manager to another?

To transfer a contract from one hiring manager to another, close the existing contract and have the new hiring manager extend an equivalent offer or updated contract.

Log in to get personalized help.