Upwork Subscription via Apple In-App Purchase

As a freelancer or agency you can subscribe to Upwork via Apple using in-app purchasing on your mobile device. Then you can manage the subscription just like other subscriptions associated with your Apple account.

Upwork In-App Membership Plans


Upwork membership plans offer additional tools for a monthly subscription fee.

The plans include:

  • Freelancer Plus, a monthly subscription for $27 USD that includes 100 monthly Connects, strategic insights on competitors, and access to the latest tools.Agency Plus, a monthly subscription with custom benefits and unlimited team members for $29.99 USD

The standard purchase price for Freelancer Plus and Agency Plus memberships purchased via Upwork.com is $20 USD. In-app prices are subject to additional processing fees.

Apple In-App Subscription Services


After you buy an Upwork subscription from the iOS app, Apple will manage your subscriptions. Apple will initiate any monthly renewals or billing until you cancel your membership. You will not be able to manage the subscription directly on Upwork.com.

Read more about managing Apple subscriptions here.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I buy a subscription from the Upwork Freelancer app?

To buy a subscription from the iOS app, you need to have a valid Apple ID and valid payment method associated with your Apple account. Then you can purchase whatever plan you wish directly from the settings within the app.

Who manages my subscription?

After you buy an Upwork subscription from the iOS app, Apple will manage your subscription. Apple will initiate any monthly renewals or billing until you cancel your membership. You will not be able to manage the subscription directly on Upwork.com.

How can I cancel the membership bought from the iOS app?

If you want to cancel your membership, you will have to do it directly from your Apple account by going here on your Apple device. You won’t be able to downgrade your membership plan that was bought in the Upwork Client or Upwork Freelancer iOS app by going on Upwork.com.

Read more about managing Apple subscriptions here.

I want to remain on a paid membership plan, but I already scheduled a downgrade from Apple's settings. How can I keep my subscription?

You can always go back to Apple's settings from your device and choose to continue your paid subscription. Also, you can wait until you are downgraded to a Basic plan and subscribe again directly on Upwork.com.

My plan was downgraded because Apple failed to charge my Apple account. What should I do next?

When you buy a subscription from the Upwork Freelancer iOS app, Apple manages that subscription. Apple will try to charge your iOS account (Apple ID) when it's time to renew the membership.

If Apple is not able to charge your account, they will inform us. We will give you a lead time of a few days to address the billing issue directly with Apple. If the issue has not been resolved after that lead period, we will downgrade the plan to Basic membership.

The most frequent reasons why payment may fail are:

  • Payment method expired
  • Payment method is out of funds
  • Daily limit for online purchases has been reached

Apple will automatically retry your payment method for up to 60 days. If you resolve the payment issue, Apple will automatically charge your payment method and will renew the Upwork membership plan subscription.

Note:

If you plan to buy a membership subscription directly from Upwork.com, make sure that you have canceled the subscription bought from the iOS app. Otherwise, you may be charged twice for your service.

Why does a subscription cost more if I decide to buy it from the Freelancer iOS app?

For the service of direct purchasing from the iOS apps, Upwork pays additional processing fees. You can always buy a subscription directly from Upwork.com to save on cost.

Was this article helpful?

35 out of 102 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"We are aware of reports of inaccurate withdrawal schedule notification emails, and have taken steps to rectify the issue. Your withdrawal schedule has not changed. You can confirm your withdrawal schedule by visiting the Get Paid section in your account settings.","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}