Pro Tips for Upwork Calls

At Upwork, we connect users across over 180 countries in a global marketplace. We work daily to provide you with secure tools to connect and get more done. 

The Upwork Message Center provides rich features for voice calls, video conferencing, file sharing, and more. Check out these tips and tricks to make the most of it.

 

Tools and features

In the Upwork Message Center, users can discuss projects, interview, share documents, and complete contracts with a rich set of tools.

Video Calls

You can start a voice or video call directly from Upwork.

Start a new call

  1. In the Upwork Message Center, find the phone symbol in the top right corner of your message room. Choose this button to start your call.
  2. A link will be sent in the message room to invite everyone in the room to join your call, and an incoming call pop-up will also appear to other members of the room so that they can join directly.

Answer a call

  1. You'll get a link in your message room to join a call, and you'll see an incoming call pop-up window.
  2. Click the shared link in chat or choose the green button in the pop-up window to join the call.

Once you’ve joined a call, you can decide to use video or audio, and you can switch between them by using the buttons at the bottom of the call screen. You can choose to minimize the call window, too, to view your message room during the live conversation.

Pro Tip: Be sure to update your audio and video permissions.

Voice Calls

Start a new call

  1. In the Upwork Message Center, find the phone symbol in the top right corner of your message room. Choose this button to start your call.
  2. A link will be sent in the message room to invite everyone in the room to join your call, and an incoming call pop-up will also appear to other members of the room so that they can join directly.

Answer a call

  1. You'll get a link in your message room to join a call, and you'll see an incoming call pop-up window.
  2. Click the shared link in chat or choose the green button in the pop-up window to join the call.

Once you’ve joined a call, you can decide to use video or audio, and you can switch between them by using the buttons at the bottom of the call screen. You can choose to minimize the call window, too, to view your message room during the live conversation.

Pro Tip: Be sure to update your audio and video permissions.

Instant messaging

When a client sends an invite, direct message, or proposal response on Upwork, it creates a message room. This space allows you to chat about a project and keeps track of your conversation over time.

Create a new message room

You can add other people to your rooms or create new rooms.

  1. Click on the plus sign in the left navigation bar of the Upwork Message Center.
  2. Add any other Upwork users you know.
Note taking

The Upwork Message Center provides a personal notepad for each room that allows you to take notes, brainstorm, and make lists.

  1. Find the notes icon in the upper right corner of your message room.
  2. Select Personal Notepad.
Conference calling

When you start a voice or video call, a link will be sent in your message room to invite everyone in the room to join your call. To invite a user to your call, be sure to add that user to your message room first.

  1. Click the plus sign in the left navigation bar of the Upwork Message Center.
  2. Find the user you want to join your call.
  3. Select the user to add them to your message room.

An incoming call pop-up will also appear to other members of the room, so that they can join directly.

Contract history

Message rooms have a full set of tools to support every step of a job, from interviews to full contract communications. Use this space to share files and documents, take notes, and share screenshots for future reference.

Screen sharing

During a call, you can share your screen in real time.

  1. Select the screen button at the bottom of the call screen.
  2. Choose to share your entire screen or a particular window.

If you'd rather share still screenshots or files, learn more here.

File sharing

Attach files directly in Upwork Messages.

  1. Drag and drop a file right into your message room, or use the attachment tool to the left of the message box.
  2. Quickly access files in the Files & Links sidebar.

Learn more about sharing files and documents here

Note: At this time, your files must be smaller than 95 MB to use this feature.

 

 

Audio troubleshooting

If you open a call but can’t hear anything, it may be a permissions problem. Make sure you have granted permission for Upwork to access your microphone and speakers.

Some systems default to not providing this access. You may need to review your system permissions to provide the needed access. 

Chrome

Your camera and microphone are blocked

Upwork requires access to your camera and microphone. To fix this, select the Camera Blocked icon in your browser's address bar, then choose the Always allow option and select Done.

Your microphone is blocked

Upwork requires access to your microphone. To fix this, select the Camera Blocked icon in your browser's address bar, then choose the Always allow option and select Done.

After selecting Done, close the Upwork alert box by clicking Got it. You should now be able to unmute your microphone and/or camera by clicking on the microphone and camera icons.

Apple Safari

Your camera and microphone are blocked

Upwork requires access to your camera and microphone. To fix this, choose Safari > Preferences > Websites > Microphone / Camera > Allow for upwork.com.

Your microphone is blocked

Upwork requires access to your microphone. To fix this, choose Safari > Preferences > Websites > Microphone / Camera > Allow for upwork.com.

After closing Preferences, close the Upwork alert box by clicking Got it. You should now be able to unmute your microphone and/or camera by clicking on the microphone and camera icons.

Firefox

Your camera and microphone are blocked

Upwork requires access to your camera and microphone. To fix this, select the Camera or Microphone Blocked icon and then click the X near the blocked microphone and camera.

Your microphone is blocked

Upwork requires access to your microphone. To fix this, select the Microphone Blocked icon and then click the X near the blocked microphone.

Close the Upwork alert box by clicking Got it. You should now be able to unmute your microphone and/or camera by clicking on the microphone and camera icons.

Edge

Your camera and microphone are blocked

Upwork requires access to your camera and microphone. To fix this, select the Microphone Blocked icon in your browser's address bar, choose the Always allow option, and then click Done.

Your microphone is blocked

Upwork requires access to your microphone. To fix this, select the Microphone Blocked icon in your browser's address bar, choose the Always allow option, and then click Done.

Сlose the Upwork alert box by clicking Got it. You should now be able to unmute your microphone and/or camera by clicking on the microphone and camera icons.

 

Approved Browsers

Voice and video calls on Upwork are supported in the most up-to-date versions of three common browsers.

  • Google Chrome
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Apple Safari

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

 

Where do I get the mobile and desktop apps for Upwork Calls?

Find the desktop app for Windows, Mac, and Linux for freelancers here.

Your app activity will sync with your Messages tab in Upwork.

How do I create a room?

To create a new room, click the plus sign on the left navigation bar to start a room for any topic and add users as needed (as long as they exist in your address book).

How do I block another user?

There are multiple ways to block a user but the easiest way is to access a room with that user, click on their profile icon, then select Block. Please note that you cannot block a user with whom you have an active contract.

How do I mark a message unread?

To mark a message as unread, click the gear icon to the right of a sent message and select "Mark as Unread."

How do I set an Out of Office message?

Click the gear icon on the top left of your Upwork Messages screen and select "Out-of-Office Responder" in the drop-down menu. Once on the "Out-of-Office Responder" page, toggle the responder on, and set your away message and the start/end dates.

How do I limit my notifications?

If you start to receive too many notifications, click on the Settings gear icon (top right corner) and click on Notifications to update your preferences. You can adjust the frequency of notifications, the topics and events you wish to track, and the account where your updates will be displayed.

You can also choose to turn off notifications altogether.

Log in to get personalized help.