Does the meeting schedule process look different to you? We are beta testing this feature with limited users to start. Stay tuned, we hope to expand this offering to all users by the end of July 2021.

We know how important smooth and effective communication is to building relationships and completing projects. Sometimes the best form of communication is a face-to-face meeting. That’s why we’ve introduced a meeting scheduling tool right in Messages for your convenience.

 

Link a Calendar

Linking a calendar to your Upwork account is recommended, but not required, to schedule meetings. Currently supported calendars include:

  • Google Calendar
  • Microsoft Calendars

Apple iCal is not currently supported.

To link a calendar, navigate to a message room. Click the Schedule a Meeting link at the top of the room. This will open the “Connect your calendar” window. You can perform this step in any message room, even if you do not intend to schedule a meeting in it right away.

You will be prompted to sign into your Google or Microsoft account so that we can access your calendar.

Note: Once you’ve integrated your calendar, it is applied to all of your active message rooms. You do not need to resync to schedule meetings in different rooms.

Send a Meeting Invitation

To schedule a meeting, navigate to the specific message room and click “Schedule a Meeting” at the top of the page. If you have not linked a calendar, the “Connect your calendar” window will open and you will be prompted to do so. You can connect a calendar or click the “Skip For Now” button.

When you have added a calendar or skipped doing so, the “Select your availability” window will open. Select the timezone for the meeting, as well as the days and times you are available. Note that if a time is booked in your calendar, even if you marked it as available while creating the meeting invitation, it will show as unavailable to other users.

Next, click the “Continue” button to proceed to the “Select the meeting length” window. You can select 15, 30, 45, or 60 minutes.

Then click the “Send” button, which will send a meeting invite link to the message room. Everyone in the room will be able to access it.

Schedule a Meeting

After you send a meeting invite, other participants in the room can click on the automatically generated “Select date and time” link, which opens the “Select date and time” window. 

This window is split into two sections. The left hand section includes a calendar with the invite sender’s available dates highlighted. The right hand section contains a selection of the sender’s available times.

Linking a calendar is optional for meeting invitation respondents. They can simply select a day from the calendar to gain access to available time slots.

When the respondent has selected a day and time, and clicked the “Confirm” button, the meeting is automatically scheduled. The meeting sender will have the event automatically added to their calendar, if they have one synced. All other participants will receive a system message with an “Add this meeting to your calendar” link that they can use to manually add the meeting to their own calendars.

Alter or Cancel a Meeting

Sometimes things come up and you can’t make a meeting. We make this as easy as possible.

After a meeting is scheduled, the message remains in the room and now includes “Cancel” and “Reschedule” links. To do either, simply click the link and follow the steps.

Join a Meeting

Users with synced calendars, as well as those who manually added the event to their calendars, will be able to join the meeting via the link in the calendar event. You can also join via the link in the message room, or by using the Zoom meeting feature.

FAQs

If I disconnect my calendar after accepting meeting invitations, will they disappear from my calendar?

No, they will still appear in your calendar. You cannot remove or edit them on the Upwork platform, but you will be able to from your calendar.

Can I add people who are not in the message room?

No, only people in a message room can be invited to a meeting created for that room.

Do I have to link my calendar?

You are not required to link your calendar but certain functionality, such as calendar alerts, will be unavailable to you if you do not.

Do you support Apple iCal?

Not currently, though we are working on it and will support it soon. In the meantime, you can use Google or Microsoft calendars.

Log in to get personalized help.