To keep Upwork secure and meet specific developer needs, we maintain different scope and permissions levels in the Upwork API.

Permissions define what a user can do in the context of a given team or a company. All permissions are relative to the team, except for "owner," which is relative to the company.

Permissions within the context of our API:

  • Application permission — Access an API endpoint, also called “scope” or “Key Permission"
  • User permission — Access to content, specific to the user and context of the call (team, company)

Was this article helpful?

11 out of 24 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"We are aware of reports of inaccurate withdrawal schedule notification emails, and have taken steps to rectify the issue. Your withdrawal schedule has not changed. You can confirm your withdrawal schedule by visiting the Get Paid section in your account settings.","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}