Have a promo code for Freelancer Plus?

  • If you already subscribe, go to Membership and Connects and select "Add a promo code" to redeem it.
  • If you don’t have a membership yet, go to Membership and Connects and choose "Change Plan." From there you can select Freelancer Plus, enter and apply your promo code, and "Activate Freelancer Plus."

Paying for your monthly Freelancer Plus membership is easy. Just add a billing method, and we’ll automatically charge either your earnings balance on Upwork or your billing method each month.

If you have enough in your existing earnings balance, we’ll pull the cost from there. If you don’t have the required amount in your Upwork account, we’ll charge your preferred billing method for the total cost, if you have one on file.

Payment didn’t go through?

If for some reason your payment for the plan fails, we will automatically move you to our free membership plan. But don’t worry, you can get all the perks of Freelancer Plus again by re-enrolling at any time.

Important:

Billing cycle and cancellations

Membership plans are billed immediately when you upgrade to a paid plan and recur monthly for as long as you remain enrolled in that plan. For example, if you upgrade to a paid plan on April 21, you will always be billed and have your Connects balance refreshed on the 21st day of the month. This is considered your membership billing cycle.

If you want to cancel your Freelancer Plus plan, you’ll need to do so before your renewal date, which begins at midnight UTC time. If you wait until the renewal date, you’ll be charged and your cancellation will not be effective until the following billing cycle. For example, if your renewal date is March 15 and you cancel on March 15, you’ll be billed for March and your cancellation will be effective April 15.

 

 

Note:

Membership billing cycles that start on the 29th, 30th, and 31st of the month will all be renewed on the 1st day of the following month. The 28th is the last date eligible for monthly billing.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I change my monthly billing cycle?

You can change your monthly billing cycle date by downgrading to a Freelancer Basic plan before your billing date this month and then upgrading back to a Freelancer Plus plan the following month on your preferred billing date. You can't downgrade and then upgrade for the purpose of changing your billing date within the same monthly billing cycle.

For example: If your current billing date is the 15th, and you want to change it to the 1st, you'd need to downgrade before November 15th and then re-enroll in Freelancer Plus plan on December 1st. If you downgraded after November 15th, you'd need to wait until January 1st in order to renew your billing cycle.

What happens when my account is suspended?

If your account or billing method is suspended, your membership will be downgraded at the end of your billing cycle. You will not be charged for the next billing cycle.

Can I use my earnings to pay for a Freelancer Plus plan?

Yes, you can use your earnings to pay for a Freelancer Plus membership, as long as you have a sufficient balance available to cover the total cost. If you do not have enough in your earnings balance to cover membership, we will automatically charge your chosen billing method for the total cost of the plan, if you have one on file.

Can I use a combination of my earnings balance and my billing method to purchase a membership or Connects?

No, you can use either your earnings balance OR another billing method to pay for a membership or Connects. You can’t combine payments from each to make one purchase.

How do I cancel my Freelancer Plus membership and downgrade to Freelancer Basic?

To downgrade from Freelancer Plus to Freelancer Basic:

  1. Go to Settings > Memberships & Connects
  2. Select Change Plan
  3. Choose the Switch to Basic button on the Basic plan

Remember, if you want to cancel your Freelancer Plus plan, you’ll need to do so before your renewal date, which begins at midnight UTC time. If you wait until the renewal date, you’ll be charged and your cancellation will not be effective until the following billing cycle.

Was this article helpful?

4134 out of 6504 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"We are aware of reports of inaccurate withdrawal schedule notification emails, and have taken steps to rectify the issue. Your withdrawal schedule has not changed. You can confirm your withdrawal schedule by visiting the Get Paid section in your account settings.","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}