Add or Remove Team Members

You must be an account owner or team admin to add or remove team members. If you need to have additional admins on your account, consider upgrading to an Upwork Plus account.

Invite a New Team Member


  1. Go to Settings Members & Permissions
  2. Click Invite New User
  3. Fill out the form to assign the appropriate permissions
  4. Click Invite

Adjust Team Member Permissions


  1. Go to Settings Members & Permissions
  2. Click the team member’s name you wish to update
  3. Adjust any permissions you need to change
  4. Click Save

Remove a Team Member


  1. Go to Settings Members & Permissions
  2. Click the team member’s name you wish to update
  3. Click Remove from Team

Breakdown of Team Permissions


Under Settings Members & Permissions you can add team members and adjust permissions according to the following options:

Finance Only: Can manage payment methods, view financial reports, and make deposits and withdrawals. Finance privileges are company-wide, even when Teams are in use.

Full: In addition to finance privileges, can invite or remove team members, manage members permissions, and edit Company Details.
Source Talent Only: Can post jobs, invite freelancers and agencies to interview, and review proposals. Cannot hire, end contracts, give bonuses or update contract terms.

Full: In addition to talent sourcing privileges, hiring managers can make contract offers, approve milestones, give bonuses, increase rates, end contracts, and submit feedback.
Self Only: Can log time and view their own Work Diary (only applicable to freelancers with active contracts).

All: Can log time (with an active contract) and view Work Diaries and hours-only reports for all team members.
No One: Can only see and respond to team members who initiate messaging.

Team Members: Can see and chat with everyone on the team.

Company Members: Can see and chat with everyone in the company, across all teams.
The main point of contact responsible for the freelancer's contract. By default, this is the person who hired the freelancer or agency, but you can set it to be anyone on your team who has Hiring permission "Full".

Note: Admins and Hiring Managers on your team will receive a copy of the Weekly Billing Summary.

Log in to get personalized help.