Log Time with the Upwork Desktop App


Instructions

It’s easy to log your time using the Upwork desktop app.

To log your time:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Select the correct contract
  4. Click the On/Off toggle switch to turn on logging
  5. Click the “What are you working on?” box to enter a memo and/or activity label

To change the description of what you’re working on:

  1. Switch back to the Time Tracker window
  2. Click the “What are you working on?” box again to enter a new memo and/or activity label

To change your memo or activity label after your time has been uploaded to the Work Diary:

  1. Go to your contract’s Work Diary
  2. Click the memo bar above the segment you want to change
  3. Edit your memo and assigned activity as necessary

To switch to working on a different contract:

  1. Click the contract name at the top of the Time Tracker window
  2. Select the correct contract
  3. Click the On/Off toggle switch to turn on logging
  4. Click the “What are you working on?” box to enter a memo and/or activity label

To change your app settings:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window.
  4. Choose Preferences in the menu

To report a problem with the app:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window.
  4. Choose Contact Support

To send feedback about the app:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window.
  4. Choose Send Feedback

Back to Top


Three views of your time: Stopwatch, Today, and This Week

Next to the ON/OFF toggle switch is a stopwatch that counts the time since you turned logging ON. Please refer to the Today and This Week counts in the app (or your Work Diary) to confirm your time billed. This stopwatch doesn't take into account the Work Diary’s 10-minute segments or that you may have gone idle while logging time. Only time segments with uploaded user activity are invoiced, and every segment with activity will be billed, so some rounding will occur.

Clicking Today or your last screen snapshot will take you to your Work Diary to review what we’ve uploaded and make adjustments, if needed. Clicking This Week will take you to this week’s timesheet report.

Back to Top


What does the app upload when I log time?

Screen Snapshots

When you have logging turned on, the app takes random screen snapshots six times per hour—once per 10-minute billing segment. Anything visible on your screen will display in your Work Diary, but you have the option, in Preferences, to choose whether the snapshot captures your entire desktop or only the active screen. You can also choose whether you want to be notified each time a snapshot is taken. By default, notifications are on and you’ll have the option to delete the snapshot before upload.

You may delete snapshots from your Work Diary until the end of the work week. If you delete a screen snapshot, you also delete that time segment’s activity (meaning it won’t be included in your weekly invoice).

What You Are Working On

Each time segment you work can have both a memo and an activity tag. Make sure that all your time is accurately described, because it’s an important part of qualifying for the Upwork Hourly Protection. You can set a reminder in the app to ask you for an update. The reminders are optional and you can update the memos and activity labels in your Work Diary until it’s locked for invoicing.

If your client files a dispute against the hours you log and you do not have adequate descriptive memos or activity labels, the dispute manager will award the dispute in the client's favor.

Camera Snapshots

Adding camera snapshots can make your Work Diary feel more personal. This feature is optional and disabled by default. If you choose to enable the camera, snapshots (not video) will be uploaded six times an hour. You can delete the camera snapshots from your Work Diary without changing the time segment’s activity.

User Activity

The app logs your activity level by counting the number of mouse clicks, scroll actions, and keystrokes you make. It also records to your Work Diary the name of the application you’re using and its active window at the time of the snapshot.

The app is not a surveillance system. The app does not record the following:

  • What you click
  • What you type
  • Non-visible information like ***ed-out passwords
  • Files you access
  • Lists of applications you use
  • Video footage through your webcam
  • Information about the inactive applications you may have open

You have full control over what it records. You can turn it on and off at any point and you can choose whether to share snapshots and activity levels. Delete anything you don’t want shared either before upload or from your Work Diary before it’s locked for invoicing.

You can learn more about how we use the recorded and uploaded information in the privacy policy.

Back to Top

Log in to get personalized help.