Log Time with the Desktop App


 


How to bill your time

It’s easy to bill your time using the Upwork desktop app.

To log your time:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Select the correct contract
  4. Click the On/Off toggle switch to turn on logging
  5. Click the “What are you working on?” box to enter a memo and/or activity label

To change the description of what you’re working on:

  1. Switch back to the Time Tracker window
  2. Click the “Working on” box again to enter a new memo and/or activity label

To change your memo or activity label after your time has been uploaded to the Work Diary:

  1. Go to your contract’s Work Diary
  2. Click the memo bar above the segment you want to change
  3. Edit your memo and assigned activity as necessary

To switch to working on a different contract:

  1. Click the contract name at the top of the Time Tracker window
  2. Select the correct contract
  3. Click the On/Off toggle switch to turn on logging
  4. Click the “What are you working on?” box to enter a memo and/or activity label

To change your app settings:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window
  4. Choose Settings in the menu

To report a problem with the app:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window
  4. Choose Support and Feedback
  5. Add a detailed description of the issue and submit

To send feedback about the app:

  1. Open the Upwork desktop app
  2. Log into your Upwork account
  3. Click your name at the bottom of the Time Tracker window
  4. Choose Support and Feedback
  5. Add your feedback and submit

Back to Top


Three views of your time: Current Session, Today, and This Week

Your current session time is shown to the left of the ON/OFF toggle switch. It looks like a stopwatch that counts the time since you turned logging ON. Please refer to the Today and This Week counts in the app (or your Work Diary) to confirm your time billed. This stopwatch doesn't take into account the Work Diary’s 10-minute segments or that you may have gone idle while logging time. Only time segments with uploaded user activity are invoiced, and every segment with activity will be billed, so some rounding will occur.

Click View Work Diary to review what we’ve uploaded and make adjustments, if needed. Clicking This Week will take you to this week’s timesheet report.

Back to Top


What does the app upload when I log time?

Screen Captures

When you have logging turned on, the app takes random screen captures six times per hour—once per 10-minute billing segment. Anything visible on your screen will display in your Work Diary, but you have the option, in Settings, to choose whether the screen captures your entire desktop or only the active screen. You can also choose whether you want to be notified each time a screen capture is taken. By default, notifications are on and you’ll have the option to delete the screen capture before upload if you’d like to.

You may delete screen captures from your Work Diary until the end of the weekly billing cycle. If you delete a screen capture in the desktop app or in your Work Diary, you also delete that time segment’s activity (meaning it won’t be included in your weekly invoice).

What You Are Working On

Each time segment you work can have both a memo and an activity tag. In order to qualify for the Upwork Hourly Protection, you need to make sure that all your time is accurately described. You can set a reminder in the app to ask you for an update. The reminders are optional and you can update the memos and activity labels in your Work Diary until it’s locked for invoicing.

If your client files a dispute against the hours you log and you do not have adequate descriptive memos or activity labels, the dispute manager may award the dispute in the client's favor.

Camera Snapshots

Adding camera snapshots can make your Work Diary feel more personal. This feature is optional and disabled by default. If you choose to enable the camera, snapshots (not video) will be uploaded six times an hour. You can delete the camera snapshots from your Work Diary without changing the time segment’s activity.

User Activity

The app logs your activity level by counting the number of mouse clicks, scroll actions, and keystrokes you make as well as receiving information from your operating system about whether you are active or not (useful for less “countable” activities). It also records to your Work Diary the name of the application you’re using and its active window at the time of the snapshot.

The app is not a surveillance system. The app does not record the following:

  • What you click
  • What you type
  • Non-visible information like ***ed-out passwords
  • Files you access
  • Lists of applications you use
  • Images or video footage through your webcam
  • Information about the inactive applications you may have open

You have full control over what it records. You can turn it on and off at any point and you can choose whether to share screen captures and activity levels. Delete anything you don’t want shared either before upload or from your Work Diary before it’s locked for invoicing.

You can learn more about how we use the recorded and uploaded information in the Privacy Policy.

 

Log in to get personalized help.