You can reactivate a closed freelancer account yourself, as long as it’s been less than five years since the account has been closed.

If you had a freelancer account that included a client profile too, you’ll need to reach out to support to reactivate your account (even if you only want to reactivate the freelancer side of the account).

To reactivate your freelancer account:


  1. Log in using the username and password of your former account. You can use the email/username option or Single Sign-On (SSO) options (like Google or Apple login) as long as they were formerly connected to your Upwork account
  2. You’ll see a message that your account is currently closed. Select the link in the message to generate an email to begin reactivating
  3. We will send a message to the email address associated with the account. Open the link in the email to finish reactivating the account
  4. The link will redirect you back to the Upwork homepage, where you will be notified that your account was reactivated successfully
  5. Log in using the same email address and password. You may be asked to answer your security question

Frequently Asked Questions

What if I no longer have access to the email address associated with my Upwork account?

Please reach out to us, we can help!

You sent me an email link to reactivate my account, but it expired. What should I do?

You can request a new link by logging in again. The link will expire four hours from the time of the request.

I requested a link to reactivate my account but did not receive one. What should I do?

We suggest checking your spam folder. You can request a new link by logging in again. If you don’t find or receive the email, please contact us.

Why can’t I reactivate my account?

There are three main reasons:

  • Your Upwork account was set up to let you both use Upwork as a freelancer and a client. In these cases, we need to help you get your account reactivated, so please reach out
  • Your account has been inactive for more than five years. If that’s the case, we suggest you make a new account

We also can’t reinstate your account if you were permanently suspended for Terms of Service (TOS) violations. If you have been permanently suspended from Upwork in the past, you will not be allowed to work on our platform again, and new accounts will be closed. Learn more about appealing account suspensions

Was this article helpful?

32 out of 352 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}