Activate Screenshot and Webcam for MacOS Mojave and Newer

If you are having trouble with your webcam, microphone access and taking screenshots, it may be a permissions problem with your MacOS.

MacOS Mojave and newer versions add the camera and microphone to the app permissions panel. Prior to this update, app permissions only included accessing your location, contacts, photos, calendar, and reminders. 

Review which apps have permission to access your webcam or microphone by going to System Preferences > Security & Privacy, and click the Privacy tab at the top. 

You will have to explicitly give notarized apps -- including Upwork -- the permission to use your camera. If you have ever received a notification that said, ”Upwork would like to access camera,” and you pressed “Don’t allow,” this may be saved in your settings. It could have been saved from a previous time, so it might be a good idea to double-check. 

Screen_Shot_2019-10-08_at_8.26.05_AM.png

Allow Upwork to Access Your Camera

To ensure that Upwork can access your camera: 

  1. Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Camera and find the Upwork icon.
  2. Give Upwork permission to use the camera.

camera-permission-osx.png

Reset Your Screenshot Tool

With this system update, Apple gave users the choice to have more power over their computer’s controls. This system is called TCC, or “Transparency, Consent, and Control.” These controls can make it easy to accidentally block Upwork from your screenshot tool. 

To reset your permissions and give Upwork access to take screenshots:

  1. First, make sure your Upwork app is current. Check here for the latest version.
  2. Close the Upwork app.
  3. Find the Terminal app on your computer and open it.
  4. Enter “tccutil reset All com.upwork.Upwork” at the prompt. This will reset the Upwork permissions on your computer. 
  5. Go to Settings & Privacy > Screen Recording, and find the Upwork icon. You’ll need to quit and restart Upwork to activate the change.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-08_at_8.26.56_AM.pngScreen_Shot_2019-10-08_at_8.27.06_AM.png

  6. Select the icon. If you can’t, return to the Terminal app and enter “tccutil reset All” this time.
  7. Go to Settings & Privacy > Screen Recording, and find the Upwork icon. Click to confirm that it is active and ready to go! 

For additional help, take a look at Apple’s technical Q&A

Log in to get personalized help.