Loading
{ "global": { "icon": "info", "start": "", "end": "" }, "responsive_group_1": { "country": "All", "usertype": "all", "icon": "info", "start": "", "end": "" }, "responsive_group_2": { "country": "All", "usertype": "all", "icon": "info", "start": "", "end": "" } }
[ "filter-fl", "filter-ag" ]

Your verified name on Upwork is only shared with clients once you enter a contract. Learn where it appears and why it’s shared.


In this article


Do you show my real name to clients on Upwork?

Your full, verified name is not shown to everyone. However, when you agree to enter into a contract with a client, we do share your verified name with that client at that time.


What does Upwork mean by "verified name"?

Your full, verified name is the one on the government-issued ID that you share with us when verifying your identity.


Where do clients see my real name after we have a contract?

Your verified name is shown in the following locations:

On invoices: The name displayed on an invoice may be different from your verified name. The invoice name is based on the Legal Taxpayer Name listed under Business Name and may also reflect your public name.


Why does Upwork need to share my verified name with clients?

Knowing for certain that you are who you say you are helps build trust and confidence with your clients and helps you develop a professional relationship with the client, just as you would if you were working together in person. It also helps keep our marketplace safe and secure.


What if I’m not comfortable with my client knowing my verified name?

We know your privacy matters, and sharing your full legal name can feel personal. However, entering into a contract requires legally binding details.

While your profile name can reflect how you prefer to be known, your verified name will be shared in contract workrooms.


Does my real, verified name appear on my Upwork profile?

That's up to you. Your profile name can be a nickname or a variation of your legal name, as long as it follows our name change guidelines.

Your verified name is only shared in the contract room you have with a client.

Was this article helpful?

Upwork Help

Do you need additional help?

Get Support

Log in for personalized service and assistance.