Looking for information on an old membership plan? Click here.


Freelancer Plus is a monthly subscription for $14.99 (USD) that is designed to help you more effectively market your services, submit proposals, and stand out from the crowd. When you upgrade to a Freelancer Plus plan, you'll experience the following benefits:

  • Be discoverable by keeping your profile active, even if you take a break
  • Be competitive with insight into competitor bids on jobs
  • Engage and apply with 70 Connects per month
  • Stand out with a customized profile URL
  • Keep your earnings confidential

To upgrade to Freelancer Plus

  1. Go to Settings > Memberships & Connects
  2. Click the View or Edit Membership Plan
  3. Click the Upgrade button on the Plus plan
When will my plan be billed and my Connects be added?

Your plan will be billed every month on the same date. The day you upgrade to a Freelancer Plus plan your billing cycle date is reset. Your Connects will refresh monthly according to this new billing cycle.

How many Connects can I roll over each month?

A freelancer can roll over up to 140 unused Connects each month.

Do Connects ever expire?

Connects expire one year from the date of issue. However, you can only roll over 140 Connects per billing cycle (agencies can roll over as many as 160).

What's the difference between Freelancer Basic and Freelancer Plus?

The Freelancer Basic plan is your default free plan. The Freelancer Plus plan includes a monthly allotment of Connects, membership perks, and visibility into competitor bids.

How do I downgrade my membership plan?

To downgrade from Freelancer Plus to Freelancer Basic:

  1. Go to Settings > Memberships & Connects
  2. Click the View or Edit Membership Plan
  3. Click the Sign Up button on the Basic plan

Article content for previous membership plans

Membership Plans

Need help getting started on Upwork? Check out our Online Course for New Freelancers.


Our goal is to ensure that all great freelancers can be successful through Upwork, whether they work a lot or a little through our platform. Membership Plus plans give freelancers and agencies the option to upgrade for extra features and perks as part of their Upwork account. Plus plans are designed to help you more effectively market your services and stand out from the crowd. Each freelancer and agency can choose their own plan. The plans are renewed on a monthly basis and can be changed at any time.

What's the difference between the Basic and Plus plans?

The Freelancer Basic plan is the default and free to all. Upgrade to a Plus plan for additional Connects, privileges, visibility into competitors bids, or to add team members to grow your agency. You can learn more about Freelancer Basic vs Plus and Agency Plus plans below.

How do I upgrade my membership plan?

  1. Go to Settings > Memberships & Connects
  2. Click the View or edit membership plan link
  3. Click the Upgrade button on the Plus plan
  4. You'll receive a prorated number of Connects as an upgrade bonus

How do I downgrade my membership plan?

  1. Go to Settings > Memberships & Connects
  2. Click the View or edit membership plan link
  3. Click the Sign Up button on the Basic plan

When will my plan be billed and my Connects refresh?

Your plan will be billed every month on the same date. The day you upgrade to a Plus plan you receive a prorated number of Connects for that month and your billing cycle date is reset. Your Connects will refresh monthly according to this new billing cycle.

For example: If you upgrade seven days into your billing cycle, you'll get the 10 monthly Plus Connects bonus and 14 prorated Connects (two per day), for a total of 24. Starting the next billing cycle, you'll receive the full 70.

Freelancer

By default, you will automatically be enrolled in our free Freelancer Basic plan. Freelancers who upgrade to a Plus plan for $10 monthly earn:

  • An additional 10 Connects per month (plus a prorated first month's allotment)
  • The ability to buy additional Connects as needed for $1 each
  • Rollover privileges so that up to 140 unused Connects can be carried over to the following billing cycle
  • Visibility into competitor (high, low, average) bids on jobs
  • The ability to create a customized URL to your freelancer profile
  • The ability to hide earnings on your freelancer profile

Agency

The Agency Plus plan is designed to help our largest and most professional agencies stand apart from other freelancers and single-person agencies. Freelancers who upgrade to an Agency Plus plan for $20 monthly earn:

  • The ability to support unlimited team members
  • An additional 20 Connects per month (plus a prorated first month's allotment)
  • The ability to buy additional Connects as needed for $1 each
  • Rollover privileges so that up to 160 unused Connects can be carried over to the following billing cycle
  • Visibility into their competitors' high, low, and average bids on jobs
  • The ability to hide earnings on your agency and team members' profiles

Upgrade Proration

At upgrade you'll receive a prorated number of Connects. To prorate means to allocate something based on another value, usually a unit of time.

We change your billing cycle date when you upgrade, so proration is based on how many days into your Basic plan's billing cycle you were at upgrade. By prorating your Connects we can ensure you always get a fair allotment no matter when you upgrade.

When you upgrade, you keep the Connects you already have and we add on the Plus plan upgrade amount (10 for freelancers or 20 for agencies). We then also give you credit for the days of billing cycle that have passed since your Connects were last refilled.

How? We figure each day is worth two Connects because the Basic plan gives you 60 to use in 30 days. If it's been three days since your Connects refreshed, you get six Connects. If it's been 25 days since your Connects refreshed, it'll be 50 Connects.

Connects balance at upgrade

45

Difference between Basic & Plus

+ 10

Days into billing cycle

25

Prorated Connects (days x 2)

+ 50

Total after upgrade

= 105

We only prorate the first month's Connects at upgrade. Moving forward, you'll receive your full allotment (that's 70 for Plus plan freelancers) every month on your billing cycle date.

Log in to get personalized help.