Timing

In most cases, your payment transfers immediately. However, there are occasions when it may take up to 24 hours. If it has been more than 24 hours, please contact PayPal.

You must use your own registered PayPal account. You should determine which type of PayPal account works for you. PayPal may limit your account functionality until you pass their verification procedures and they usually require a bank account or credit card.

 

NOTE

For security reasons, any PayPal account added to your Upwork account will become active after three days.

 

Fees

In addition to a small per-transfer fee Upwork charges, there may be additional costs on PayPal's side.

  • PayPal changes their minimum and maximum transaction amounts from time to time, and you should check with PayPal for current information. Typically, transactions have a minimum of $1.00 and a maximum of $10,000.
  • PayPal's outgoing withdrawal fees vary by method, destination country, and currency choice (see PayPal's withdrawal fee calculator for details). PayPal also may charge additional fees based on your location. For example, PayPal India classifies transfers from Upwork as payments for services and charges additional fees.

To add PayPal as a payment method and check Upwork's per-transfer fees, click here. Click the Add Payment Method button to see all your options and pricing. For more information on adding PayPal as a payment method, click here.

 

How do I connect my PayPal account to my Upwork account?

You can link your PayPal account with your Upwork account by clicking a self-serve link that will appear at the top of the “Get Paid” page as an alert. Note: If you’ve logged into Upwork or been paid within the past six months you will also receive the link via email.

I tried to add or re-add PayPal to my Upwork account and got redirected to PayPal. Is this legitimate?

Yes, when you re-add PayPal to your Upwork account you will be directed to PayPal.com. There, you’ll be prompted to log into your PayPal account and confirm that you want to “Connect your PayPal account to Upwork.”

To add PayPal to my Upwork account I see I have to agree to terms as part of choosing “Connect your PayPal account to Upwork.” What am I agreeing to?

When you agree to connect your PayPal account to Upwork you allow PayPal to share your full name, email, address, account verification status, PayPal ID with us. This information helps us confirm that you own the PayPal account.

I reconnected my PayPal account but it's saying I have to wait 3 days to use it. Why?

We have a standard hold period any time a payment method is added to an account. This hold stays in place for three calendar days to ensure your account security.

Do I have to link my PayPal account to Upwork?

If you don’t want to link your PayPal account to Upwork you do not have to do so. You can use any payment method available to freelancers in your country. To see your options, click here.

Log in to get personalized help.