Edit or Close a Job

You can edit everything about your job except the category and the terms type (from hourly to fixed-price or the other way around). To change these details, you'll have to close your job and repost.

To edit your job

  1. Click the Jobs tab.
  2. Locate the job you want in your Open Jobs and click Edit Posting in the Actions menu.

To cancel or close your job

  1. Click the Jobs tab and locate the job you want to close in your Open Jobs.
  2. Click Remove Posting in the Actions menu and follow the instructions. You can always come back and repost the job or hire a freelancer who submitted a proposal.

To change a job's visibility

  1. Click the Jobs tab.
  2. Locate the job you want in your Open Jobs and click Make Public or Make Private in the Actions menu.
    • Public jobs appear in freelancers' job searches. Choose this so that they can find your job on their own. You may also opt to allow your job to be visible on search engines.
    • Private, invitation-only jobs don't appear in searches, so you'll need to take the time to find and invite all the freelancers you need.

If you change visibility from Public to Private you may still get a few proposals. This is because a freelancer may have saved your job's URL, the URL may have already loaded in their RSS feed reader, or the job post is still appearing in search engines outside of Upwork (it usually takes about a day for them to remove your job after a visibility change).

Log in to get personalized help.