When work is completed on a fixed-price contract and no further milestones are required, you can end the contract. It’s always smart to talk with your freelancer or agency first to make sure you are on the same page.

Release a final payment


Before you end a contract, you should release any funds as part of the agreed-upon contract with your freelancer/agency.

PRO TIP

To release a final payment of any remaining funds, include the funds as part of an active milestone.

To release the final payment

  1. Go to View contracts on your dashboard to locate the contract
  2. Create a milestone by choosing Add new milestone
    Note: Enterprise Compliance and Work Protection Program subscribers need to plan and set all milestones at the start of the contract. If you need to add, edit, or delete milestones, you will need to create a new contract
  3. Add details and set the amount. You can release a full or partial payment (including if you set the milestone at the $5 USD minimum) from the contract’s remaining funds. Remember, if any funds are left we will automatically send a refund request to the freelancer/agency you worked with
  4. Select Save
  5. Approve and release the final payment
  6. Choose Pay now. When you approve the milestone, you will be asked if you want to end the contract or keep it open. You can then choose to close the contract

End a fixed-price contract


You can end a contract on Upwork at any time. However, before closing a contract, it’s important to confirm that all parties are aware and in agreement. Staying on the same page is important!

To end the contract:

  1. Go to View contracts on your dashboard to locate the contract. Be sure to activate and release a milestone for any final payments before ending your contract. See above to learn how
  2. Select End contract
  3. Hover over the (...) options menu and select End contract
  4. Choose End Contract to confirm and close

Important steps to take after the contract ends

  • Change or revoke any passwords or special access that you gave the freelancer during the contract
  • Ensure you’ve received all related work from the freelancer and any work-related materials and equipment of yours that you allowed them to use during the contract
  • Remind the freelancer to remove any property of yours that they used or created for you, such as documents, files, or software, from their equipment
  • You and your freelancer/agency can leave feedback. It is a double-blind system, which means your freelancer or agency will see the feedback you left them once they have left feedback for you

Note:

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to all clients who use Upwork, as it helps them see honest opinions about a freelancer’s work on Upwork. Because it’s so important, we hope you’ll take the time to provide it.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
{"global":{"message":"","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},"responsive":[{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""},{"message":"","country":"All","usertype":"all","icon":"info","start":"","end":""}]}