Before you close your account you must clear any outstanding open, active, or pending activity.

NOTE: Closing your account cannot be undone.

 

Freelancer or Agency Member

If you wish to cancel your freelancer account, you must first:

  • Close all open contracts
  • Close all open proposals
  • Ensure all payments have been received and withdrawn from Upwork

To close your freelancer account:

  1. Click Accounts menu, choose Settings, then Contact Info
  2. Click the Close My Account link
  3. If you meet the requirements, click the button to confirm that you want to close your account

If you are also a client, that part of your account will remain active.

 

Client or Agency Admin / Manager / Team Member / Colleague

If you wish to close your admin, manager, team member, or colleague account and are not also a freelancer, agency owner, or client company owner:

To close your account:

  1. Click Accounts menu, choose Settings, then My Teams
  2. Click Actions menu and choose Leave Team
  3. Repeat if you are in multiple teams -- leaving the last team will close your account

 

Client (Company Owners)

Only the company owner can close a client company. First, you must:

  • Remove all other team members from the company
  • Close all open contracts associated with the company
  • Close all open jobs associated with the company
  • Ensure all outstanding billing is paid within Upwork

To close your client company:

  1. Click Accounts menu, choose Settings, then My Info
  2. Click the Close this account link
  3. If you meet the requirements, click the button to confirm you want to close your company

If you are also a freelancer, that part of your account will remain active.

 

Agency

Only the agency owner can close an agency. First, you must:

  • Remove all other team members from the agency
  • Close all open contracts associated with the agency
  • Close all open proposals associated with the agency
  • Ensure all payments have been received and withdrawn from Upwork

To close your agency:

  1. Click Accounts menu, choose Settings, then Company Info
  2. Click the Close My Company link
  3. If you meet the requirements, click the button to confirm that you want to close your account

Your agency will be closed, but your freelancer account will remain active.

  • Your agency profile will be deleted
  • Your freelancer profile will remain as-is, except that it will no longer be tied to an agency.
  • Your Job Success score will update to reflect only your own personal contract history. This will include agency contracts where you were the one hired.

Log in to get personalized help.