Before you close your account you must clear any outstanding open, active, or pending activity.

How you close your account depends on the type of account(s) you have with Upwork. Please see below for instructions closing the account(s) you hold.

 

Freelancer or Agency Member

If you wish to close your freelancer account, you must first:

To close your freelancer account:

  1. Go to Settings  Contact Info  Click the Close my account link
  2. If you meet the requirements, click the button to confirm that you want to close your account

If you are also a client, that part of your account will remain active.

If you are instructed to contact support when closing your account please click here

Client (Company Owners)

Only the company owner can close a client company. First, you must:

    NOTE: If you have closed any hourly contracts the weekly billing cycle must end before you can close your company.

To close your client company:

  1. Go to Settings  My Info
  2. Click the Close account link at the bottom of the page

If you are also a freelancer, that part of your account will remain active.

If you are instructed to contact support when closing your account please click here

Client or Agency Admin / Manager / Team Member / Colleague

If you wish to close your admin, manager, team member, or colleague account and are not also a freelancer, agency owner, or client company owner:

  1. Go to Settings  My Teams
  2. Select Leave Team under Actions
  3. Repeat if you are on multiple teams. Once you leave all teams your account will be closed.
 
Agency

Only the agency owner can close an agency. First, you must:

To close your agency:

  1. Go to Settings › Agency Profile
  2. Select Close my agency at the bottom of the page

If you are instructed to contact support when closing your account please click here

Your agency will be closed, but your freelancer account will remain active

  • Your agency profile will be deleted.
  • Your freelancer profile will remain as-is, except that it will no longer be tied to an agency.
  • Your Job Success Score will update to reflect only your own personal contract history. This will include agency contracts where you were the one hired.
Enterprise Customer

To close your Enterprise company account, please contact your account team.

Log in to get personalized help.